Come and discover this city which does not lack charm and character.

Marvejols, centre of Gévaudan

Marvejols, the former royal city of Gévaudan, is nestled at the crossroads of three natural regions: the Margeride to the northeast with the Boulaine mountain, the Aubrac plateau to the northwest and the Grands Causses highlands to the south. The city of Marvejols, rebuilt in the 17th century by Henri IV after the religion wars, is a welcoming village today classified as one of the "Most Beautiful Detours in France". Marvejols bears an architecture marked by its medieval past but also by the Renaissance period: narrow alleys, fortified doors and other old houses.

The history of the city of Marvejols

In the 11th century, Marvejols is a small village located near Grèzes and the Monastier monastery. The village is also near the Roc de Peyre where the main castle of the barony of the lords of Peyre stands, of which Marvejols is a part. In 1307, the signing of the act of trimming (act which separates Gévaudan into three zones: the land of bishops, the land of the king and communal land) between Guillaume VI Durand, bishop of Mende, and Louis VII, king of France, fosters the city’s development. Marvejols indeed becomes the administrative capital of the lands of the king of France in Gévaudan.

The city of Marvejols was fortified in the 1360s. This wall has three gates, destroyed during the religion wars in the 16th century and subsequently rebuilt by Henri IV when he wrote the edict of Nantes in 1589:

  • The Soubeyran gate, where today a small archaeological museum presents the discoveries made during the excavations around Marvejols. This collection of ancient objects will allow you to learn a little more about the ancient capital of Gévaudan.


  • The Chanelles and the Therond gates, where there are two bronze sculptures by Emmanuel Auricoste representing Henri IV and the Beast of Gévaudan (with the plinth "executed at Marvejols in 1954").

From the beginning of the 19th century, the construction of factories brought prosperity to the city. In 1850, the city had four spinning mills, four fullers and three dyeing establishments employing 600 workers. After this peak in production, the textile industry in Marvejols will experience a slow decline during the second half of the 19th century and the beginning of the 20th century.

Marvejols is a real journey through time and history...

Around mid-July enjoy the 3 days’ Marveloz ’Pop Festival where the city relives the glorious thirties with cinema, music and street arts.

The market takes place all year round on Place Cordesse, Tuesday morning and Saturday from 8 a.m. to 1 p.m.